God is Never Gone

God was here

God was here (Photo credit: Daniel Dudek-Corrigan)

I just wanted to share some lyrics today that comforted me recently. If you are discouraged or struggling to see God in your life, it is sometimes hard to believe that God is really there with you. In the midst of a challenging time, God may seem distant or absent. I have definitely had some of those moments when I thought I was alone with a struggle. Even though we don’t understand it sometimes, GOD IS ALWAYS THERE. Also, HE ALWAYS HAS A PLAN FOR YOU. It is so easy for Satan to tell us the lie that God has abandoned us and given up on us. Just remember, sometimes God is there with you but is silent so that you can make decisions on your own. But God never leaves your side. This song by Colton Dixon was really convicting to me and helped me to see that God is never gone.

Never Gone

Lights off, a shot in the dark
We get lost when we’re playing a part
We lay blame like we know what’s best
It’s a shame…

We break when we fall too hard
Lose faith when we’re torn apart
Don’t say you’re too far gone
It’s a shame
It’s a shame

I’m still standing here
No I didn’t disappear
Now the lights are on
See I was never gone
I let go of your hand
To help you understand
With you all along
Oh, I was never gone

There’s space between our lives
Hard to face, but I know we try
To revive, bring it back to life
Don’t walk away
Don’t walk away

I’m still standing here
No I didn’t disappear
Now the lights are on
See I was never gone
I let go of your hand
To help you understand
With you all along
Oh, I was never gone

I never ever left you
Never ever left you, no.
He said I never ever left you
Never ever left you, no.
Jesus never ever left you
Never ever left you, no.
He sees us, even in the darkness
Now you know you’re not alone.

I’m still standing here
No I didn’t disappear
Now the lights are on
See I was never gone
I let go of your hand
To help you understand
With you all along
Oh, I was never gone

I’m still standing here
No I didn’t disappear
Now the lights are on
See I was never gone
I let go of your hand
To help you understand
With you all along
Oh, I was never gone

I really like the chorus when it says, “I let go of your hand, to help you understand”. God lets us make our own choices and is sometimes silent so that we learn something about Him or about our own personality. But our God is faithful. He is always there, and He always listens to us. Relating this to purity, God may be silent while you are tempted with sexual desires. However, if you turn to Him and do what is pleasing to the Lord, you will be following His will for your life. It is so so so hard to keep purity a commitment. But God is on your side and He wants to see you succeed. He may let go of your hand, but you are not alone. Trust Him blindly and remain pure for Him.

Leave a Reply

