Abstinence Makes the Heart Grow Fonder

Abstinence Makes the Heart Grow Fonder

Abstinence can be discouraging in this messed up, lust filled world. It is hard to focus on purity with the world sending you so many mixed messages about sex and lust. In a committed relationship, your passion with that person tells you that you really want intimacy with that person because you love them so much. It is hard to keep your vision set on purity when passion and emotions are in the way. But today, I want to remind you that abstinence makes the heart grow fonder. It is worth the wait. Don’t be discouraged. Think of the wonderful feeling of love and purity and passion that will be given away to the man of your dreams on the night of your wedding. I am such a sappy romantic, so I apologize for that previous statement. But seriously, remember that you are honoring God and honoring your significant other by waiting. You are showing more love but keeping your purity. I know it is challenging, trust me, I struggle with keeping pure thoughts and waiting on the Lord to show me His plan for my life as well. It is normal to have to sort out your emotions. For me, it is such a humbling process to know that I am not perfect and that everyday I have to ask the Lord to keep my thoughts pure. Abstinence makes the heart grow fonder. Trust in the Lord, so that He can give you the strength to be pure.

Proverbs 4:23
“Above all else, guard your heart, for everything you do flows from it.”

Philippians 4:7

“And the peace of God, which transcends all understanding, will guard your hearts and minds in Christ Jesus.”

Romans 12:2

“Do not conform to the pattern of this world, but be transformed by the renewing of your mind. Then you will be able to test and approve what God’s will is- his good and pleasing and perfect will.”

Psalm 73:26

“My flesh and heart may fail, but God is the strength and my portion forever.”

Psalm 51:10

“Create in me a Clean heart, and renew a right spirit within me.”

Colossians 3:5

Put to death,  therefore, what is earthly in you: sexual immorality, impurity, passion, evil desire, and covetousness, which is idolatry.”

Proverbs 23:26

“My son, give me your heart, and let your eyes observe my ways.”

Dear Father,

Please keep my eyes and thoughts to be focused on you in each second of every day. Let me focus on bringing purity to your Kingdom. Guard my heart, oh Lord, and let me love others in a way that honors You. Thank you for this beautiful day. 

Amen.

Leave a Reply

