It’s Time to Talk

Have you ever had one of those weeks when so much is going on in your life that you feel too overwhelmed to pray about any of it? Well, these past few weeks have been that way for me. I have been really stubborn trying to solve things on my own instead of go to God in prayer about it. I know that praying about it will de-stress me and bring me peace, but I just drag my feet about communicating with the Lord. Well at the beginning of last week, I was getting so overwhelmed and stress about various issues going on that I was beginning to take on a negative attitude towards everyone around me. I was unhappy with the way I was treating people, but I didn’t know how to change my attitude. I continued to feel unhappy and stressed for the most part of last week. I didn’t pray about a single issue for the whole week because I would make excuses for why I didn’t have time or energy to devote to praying about it. Finally, today on a long car ride the song “Praise You in This Storm” by Casting Crowns came on the radio. I realized then that I definitely needed to pray about all that has been on my heart lately. I prayed for a long time and got a lot of emotions out that I didn’t even know that I was feeling. Instantly, peace came over me. Nothing had changed in the situations that were occurring, but I felt instant peace from the Lord. I am reminded again and again where I fall short every day. Communication with the Creator is such a huge deal. Without prayer, we stress and worry and become unhappy. Praying about what is on your heart helps you to sort your emotions out and listen for God to guide you in your next steps. Today was a powerful prayer day for me, so I challenge you to open up to God about something that has been on your heart lately. He knows you inside and out anyway, so talk to Him. 

God Bless!

Image

Leave a Reply

