Be Thankful in Every Circumstance

In writing this post today,  I am trying to encourage you who are reading this but I am also trying to encourage myself with these words of truth from the Lord. 

As the semester is winding down and assignments and tests are piling up, it is so easy to think about all the obligations that are thrown my way. It is easy to stress about the small amount of time I have to complete a big number of tasks and fit everything in while still trying to have time to grow in my spiritual life and make time for myself to rest. Often times, when I am stressed, I am unhappy. I think negatively about all that is not going right in my life. I worry about how I can change the things that I don’t like about my life instead of actually making the change. Can you identify with any of these feelings?

Well, today I was reading a devotional from Jesus Calling by Sarah Young that really encouraged me in this time of stress and unhappiness. If you are looking for a good daily devotional to fill you with wisdom and encouragement from the Lord, I strongly recommend that you go to the book store as soon as you can and pick up your own copy of Jesus Calling. 

Anyway, the devotional today reminded me to be thankful for everything that is going on in my life right now. Even in the midst of troubles or stress, be thankful. God has sacrificed so much and shown you so much love, so be thankful. “Thankfulness is a royal road to draw near Me,” as the book states from Jesus’ perspective. If you express thanks to God, you will feel comfort and love from Him. Your troubles will not disappear, but they will be easier to conquer if you have a thankful attitude to face each day. “Fill up the spare moments of your life with praise and thanksgiving. This joyous discipline will help you live in the intimacy of My Presence.” This quote from Jesus Calling helps me to understand that if we lean on God and praise Him for everything good in our lives, we will be fulfilled and experience intimacy with Him. Doesn’t that give you hope? Doesn’t that give you hope that you can face tomorrow with a positive outlook? God is on your side, so be thankful for each day that you have to live on this earth. 

I needed to hear this today, and I hope this helps some of you who are unhappy or hopeless. God is good. Be thankful.

Image

 

One thought on “Be Thankful in Every Circumstance

  1. Pingback: Knowledge or Intimacy | This Day With God

Leave a Reply

