Self-Control is So Difficult

“Be self-controlled and alert. Your enemy the devil prowls around like a roaring lion looking for someone to devour.” 1 Peter 5:8

Watch out. Be confident that you can maintain purity, but don’t try to do it with your own strength. Turn to the Lord today and pray that He protect your purity. Ask Him to help you to avoid hard situations where your strength might fail. If you seek the Lord in this battle for purity, it is going to be a lot more enjoyable of a ride. Seek the Word of the Lord and He will comfort you when you are weak or lonely or sad. Beware that when you are strong, the Devil will try to persuade you that you are being overly cautious or ridiculous with your standards. Pray, pray, pray. That is all I can say that will help you to hear the Lord’s voice over the Devil’s. When I am scared that I am listening to the wrong voice, all I can do is pray a simple prayer.  

“Be with me, Jesus.”

It is said in the Bible that when the name of Jesus is spoken, the Devil has to flee. I find so much comfort knowing that the moment I pray to Jesus, the Devil can’t touch me. If you are struggling with temptation or depression or loneliness, and you are hearing multiple voices. Pray and just speak the name of the Lord. Seek His face. He wants to comfort you today. Let Him into the depths of your heart so that He can help you where you are weak. 

I pray that wherever you are today that you will pray that the Lord help you in this walk of purity. 

I want to tell you about the day I became a Christian. I grew up in a Christian home with wonderful parents that encouraged me to go to church for my entire life. However, it didn’t seem real to me. I didn’t let Christianity impact my life at all. I went to church on Sundays with my family, said a prayer at the dinner table, and didn’t think about God at all other than that. 

One day, my mom suggested that I go to this conference about purity called The Silver Ring Thing. I hesitated but wanted to please my mom, so I took a friend with me to go to the conference. At the conference, skits, stories, and verses were read to send the message that purity is important. I was inspired. “I want to do this,” I thought to myself. “I want to be pure.” In my eighth grade mind, I thought it was going to be a piece of cake. I don’t wanna have sex anyway. Haha. But as the conference continued, I wondered why I needed to make purity a priority. And then, for the first time in my life, I heard an alter call. The speaker kept saying, “if you want to dedicate your life and adapt a life of purity for the Lord, you can come down and pray and start your walk with Christ today.” That sounded so appealing to me. I desperately wanted to maintain purity, but I wanted a bigger reason to keep me accountable for it. So, I asked Christ into my heart there at the Silver Ring Thing. I wear my purity ring not only as a reminder to stay pure, but as a reminder to the fact that Christ lives in my heart. 

Today, I hope you put your faith in Christ and let Him help you when you are weak. 

God bless you all! 

 

Leave a Reply

