Freedom From the Past

Isn’t it so easy to look back at all of your mistakes and beat yourself up thinking to yourself, “Why did I do that? I am so much smarter than that. What was I thinking?” I know I can replay a certain situation in my mind over and over and over again and criticize myself all day long. Mostly everybody has some action or decision or moment they wish they could take back or redo. We think that by obsessing over the decision and regretting and criticizing ourselves, we can somehow change the past, or at least feel better about it. Well, I have news for you… the past is still the same as it was before you spend twenty minutes telling yourself how horrible you were for making that mistake. 

Because today marks the beginning of Resurrection Week leading up to Easter, I want to take this time to talk about God’s Grace. I am really typing this message out for myself more than anything. Lately, I have been trying to understand and comprehend the meaning of God’s wonderful, incredible Grace. I want to be able to stand confident and let the waves of God’s Grace crash over me and make me whole. I can’t even put into writing how much Grace I have seen from God in the past year, let alone my whole life. 

Believe it or not, God loves you more than you can ever imagine, even through your mistakes and your past. He wants to make you new, to cleanse you and claim you. Beating yourself up for having sex with a past boyfriend will not take the pain away. God has the power to put you back together again and make you clean. 

The lyrics to a song remind me that I can’t comprehend the Grace and Love of the Lord. We need to let go of our past and trust that the Lord has a plan for us. To prosper, and not to harm. 

I lean not on my own understanding,
My life is in the hands of the maker of heaven

I Give it all to you God, 
Trusting that you’ll make something beautiful out of me

I will climb this mountain 
With my hands wide open

Just as Christ has resurrected, you can resurrect from your past. Rise up and be who you want to be today, trusting that the Lord will make something beautiful out of your story. 

“17 Now the Lord is the Spirit, and where the Spirit of the Lord is, there is freedom. 18 And we all, who with unveiled faces contemplate the Lord’s glory, are being transformed into his image with ever-increasing glory, which comes from the Lord, who is the Spirit.” 2 Corinthians 3:17-18

This verse brings me peace and comfort when I read that the Lord’s Spirit brings Freedom. You are free from your past identity and your past decisions. Allow God’s Grace to wash over you and make you clean. 

2 thoughts on “Freedom From the Past

  1. I love the word “cleanse.” It is so refreshing to think of our hearts, minds, and bodies as being completely cleansed and refreshed. This is a wonderful message, and I’m thankful I read it as I prepare my heart and mind to celebrate the wonderful Easter holiday.

Leave a Reply

