Divine Romance

 Let us be glad and rejoice, and let us give honor to him. For the time has come for the wedding feast of the Lamb, and his bride has prepared herself. She has been given the finest of pure white linen to wear. For the fine linen represents the good deeds of God’s holy people. And the angel said to me, “Write this: Blessed are those who are invited to the wedding feast of the Lamb.” And he added, “These are true words that come from God.” Revelation 19:7-9

This verse paints a beautiful picture of the love that Christ has for us. At first, it was a little confusing to me. I didn’t really understand the meaning or significance of who or what it was referring to. But, the more I read it and think about it, the more clearly I see that this verse is telling us that we should pattern our marriages after the marriage between Christ and the church. It says “the time has come for the wedding feast of the Lamb, and his bride has prepared herself”, referring to Christ as the Lamb and the Church as his bride. Then it goes on to talk about the finest pure linens that the Church will wear to the wedding, signifying a pure relationship between Christ and the Church as well as a husband and wife on their wedding day.

So, I know you are probably wondering how I am going to tie in this verse to make it interesting or meaningful to you. Well, as I have written in a previous post, I am taking a break from dating. I am “fasting” in a sense from looking for a relationship or being anxious about the future relationships that God has in store for me. I am desperately trying to feel the love of God and experience God’s romance for me before seeking any other man’s love.

The verse above fills me with hope and reassurance that God wants to romance me and make me whole in His love and His presence. I think the end of the verse that says “Blessed are those who are invited to the wedding feast of the Lamb” is referring to God’s children that are invited into a divine romance with God and the Church.

It is kind of a weird concept to visualize and think about, but it makes so much sense to me. I want to wait upon the Lord to fill me with love and trust that He will put someone in my life that will pursue me intently with the love of the Lord. I feel that this time of “fasting” from dating will clear my mind to seek God first, and prevent heartache that comes with searching for relationships that are not pleasing to God.

I hope this verse and these words make a little bit of sense to you, and that you find some comfort or inspiration or peace in them.

If you are overwhelmed with dating or heartache from broken relationships, maybe it is a good time to grow in the Lord and put dating aside for a while. So far, it has been an eye-opening time for me to see the incredible love that Christ has for me. I encourage you to pray to God asking Him to take over your life, your future, and your relationships. It is a scary prayer to pray to give up control, but it is definitely worth it.

Lyrics to Divine Romance: Phil Wickham

The fullness of Your grace is here with me
The richness of Your beauty’s all I see
The brightness of Your glory has arrived
In Your presence God, I’m completely satisfied

For You I sing I dance
Rejoice in this divine romance
Lift my heart and my hands
To show my love, to show my love

A deep deep flood, an Ocean flows from You
Of deep deep love, yeah it’s filling up the room
Your innocent blood, has washed my guilty life
In Your presence God I’m completely satisfied

God bless you!

-brideworewhite

Image

One thought on “Divine Romance

  1. Pingback: How Do You Know When You Are Having The Real-Deal, God Is Talking To Me Experience? | Earthpages.org

Leave a Reply

