A Friend’s Advice

“Take good counsel and accept correction- that’s the way to live wisely and well.” Proverbs 19:20

It is really easy to ignore the advice of the people around you. For me especially, I do not take constructive criticism well. I am determined to find a solution on my own and learn from my own mistakes. However, I learned that God speaks through the people around you. I am realizing that everyone in my life is there for a reason, and listening to their words that are meant out of love really helps me to hear God’s voice in my life.

I experienced a situation where I was the one trying to give the advice to a friend and it was being rejected. It made me understand that when people are trying to give helpful advice, they are concerned about me and their words are out of love. My closest friend went through a similar phase where she dated a guy who was disrespectful to her and her friends. I was so concerned about her that I started being extremely overprotective towards her. I would constantly text and call her to see what she was doing, just to make sure she was okay. I had a huge fear that the guy would take advantage of her, and she would have a lot of regrets. When I would talk about these concerns with her, she would get defensive and start hiding things from me so we would not disagree.

It was so difficult for me to watch someone that I cared about so deeply struggle with her values and search so hard to find love from a guy who did not really have her best interest at heart.

When I experienced someone rejecting my words that came from concern and love, it made me understand how much I needed to value the words of the people around me that love me. I tend to be a little stubborn, I mean a lot stubborn, and try to figure things out for myself. But through this situation, I learned that God puts people in your life to speak through them into your situation.

Don’t take the people in your life for granted. I did not think it was important to listen to the good advice from the witnesses Christ has put in your life, but it is such a blessing to have good people in your life trying to help you with day-to-day struggles.

Encourage-Each-Other_7

Leave a Reply

